The UK Foreign Office (FCO) is currently advising against all but essential international travel for an indefinite period. However, countries across Europe have begun to ease lockdown measures and border restrictions, and to prepare for the return of domestic and international tourists.

At the UK border, all arrivals must self-isolate for 14 days from 8 June, or face a £1,000 fine. Arrivals must also provide contact and accommodation information, and the authorities have said they will carry out spot checks. Failure to supply an address may result in a £100 fine. They will also be strongly advised to download and use the NHS contact tracing app.

A list of exemptions is still to be confirmed, but currently includes passengers arriving from Ireland. Travel and hospitality companies and airlines are are calling for the scrapping of these quarantine measures, which they say will deter foreign visitors from coming here, deter UK visitors from travelling abroad and cause other countries to impose reciprocal quarantine requirements on Brits. They are instead urging the government to create “air bridges” allowing travel between the UK and countries where coronavirus has been controlled. Portugal’s foreign minister Augusto Santos Silva, has said that he was hopeful an air bridge between the UK and Portugal could be agreed by the end of June.

Travel restrictions and safety measures are constantly changing and we will update this article as regularly as possible.

This article was first published on 18 May at 2pm. It was last updated on 8 June at 5pm (BST).


Land borders are open to international tourists, and domestic travel is also now permitted. Hotels, shops and restaurants have begun reopening. Beaches are due to open from 6 June. Night clubs, swimming pools, theatres, cinema may reopen by 23 June. Public transport may begin operating again gradually over the next month.


Initially, cross-border travel will be permitted for tourists from neighbouring countries (that have comparable decline in the virus) – borders are due to open with Germany, Switzerland and Liechtenstein on 15 June. Talks with other countries are ongoing. A health certificate required on entry, stating that the traveller does not have coronavirus; those without a certificate must self-isolate for 14 days. Testing is available at Vienna airport for €190.Passenger train services between Austria, Italy, Slovenia, Slovakia, Switzerland and the Czech Republic are suspended. Vienna, Innsbruck and Salzburg airports are operational but with limited services until 31 May at the earliest. Restaurants, bars and hotels are permitted to reopen. Face masks mandatory on public transport and in shops.